Our Governance

Flintridge Sacred Heart, founded in 1931, is a sponsored institution of the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose. The Board of Directors, comprised of religious and lay members, was established in 1999 and is one of limited jurisdiction. Its structure has two tiers as described below.

Tiers of Governance

Tier One

Tier One is made up of the members, the canonically elected stewards of the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose whose terms continue until they cease to be elected leaders. The members have certain responsibilities for carrying out the mission of the school. These include but are not limited to:

  • Amending, repealing or approving the Bylaws;
  • Appointing the members of the board and removing the same;
  • Approving the persons recommended as officers of the corporation;
  • Appointing the president of the corporation;
  • Acquiring, purchasing, selling, leasing or transferring any real estate;
  • Approving the person recommended by the president as principal;
  • Approving an increment of additions to the capital debt or other obligations.

Tier Two

Tier Two is made up of the Board of Directors, who are appointed by the members for a three-year term that can be renewed two times for a maximum total of nine years. The board consists of no less than 12 and not more than 20 persons. The directors have certain responsibilities for carrying out the mission of the school. These include but are not limited to:

  • Promoting the mission and Catholic, Dominican identity of the school;
  • Approving and establishing policies consistent with the mission, including personnel policies that ensure justice and accountability throughout the school;
  • Recommending the school's operating and capital budgets to the members;
  • Recommending strategic/long-range plans to the members;
  • Annually evaluating board accomplishments; conducting a board evaluation and evaluating the president with respect to those matters within the board’s purview;
  • Annually assuring that there is an systematic evaluation of all personnel within the school;
  • Recommending new directors to the members;
  • Representing the school in areas of public relations.
The recent revision of original bylaws has expanded board membership, lengthened terms of service, and clearly clarified and outlined the rights and responsibilities of members and directors. Through this process, Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy has been significantly strengthened for carrying out its mission.

Past Board Members

Anthony D. Angelica | 11/01-6/09
Brian Arial | 2015-2019
Sr. Ramona Bascom, O.P. | 3/99-6/02 
William Cheung | 2016-2019
Dr. Peter Conti | 12/08-6/15 
Sr. Katherine Jean Cowan, O.P. | 3/99-6/03 
Charles Cummings | 11/01-6/09 
Dr. John Davitt | 1/01-6/09 
Michael Davitt | 12/10-6/16 
Sara Dooley ’98 | 12/10-6/12 
Robert Edwards | 9/09-6/15 
Lisa Smith Freer ‘87
Kristin Friese Gannon | 9/12-6/13 
Stephen J. Giovanisci | 3/99-6/07 
Lawrence P. Glascott | 1/01-6/04
Robert Goodwin | 8/03-6/10 
Robert Harper | 6/15-6/16
Sr. Rose Marie Hennessy, O.P. | 3/99-7/05 
Charles Hofgaarden | 9/04-6/08
Sr. Donna Johnson, O.P. | 11/01-6/07
Sr. Gloria Marie Jones, O.P. | 9/05-6/07, 12/10-10/16   
Leslie Kawai ’80 | 12/10-6/16 
Chris La Bonge  | 12/08-6/13
John Laco 8/2012 to 6/2018
Christy Larsen ’84  | 8/03-6/11
Sr. Mary Virginia Leach, O.P. | 3/99-11/00, 9/07-6/10
Matthew Lewis | 8/2015-11/2018
Rita Illig Liebelt ’76 | 12/08-10/11 
Paul Locker | 12/08-6/15 
Darla Longo ‘75 | 1/01-6/08, 6/2009-6/2019
Sr. Alicia Lucy, O.P.  | 3/1999-6/2001
Kenneth (Kenny) Lund
Dennis Maguire 8/2016-8/2018
Robert Malchione | 8/2009-6/2018
Steven Mann | 12/10-6/16 
Marina L. Marrelli ’78 | 9/07-6/11 
Sr. Mary Hilary Miller, O.P. | 3/99-6/01 
Christine Navarro '82 
Barbara Goen Nemer | 11/01-6/08 
Fadi Rassam | 2017-2020
Tom Romano | 11/02-6/07 
Sr. Mary Louis Seal, O.P. | 3/99-6/01 
Keith Sharp | 9/2011-6/2018
Sr. Patricia Ann Smith, O.P. | 9/08-6/09 
Robert H. Smith | 3/99-6/03 
Timothy J. Smith | 3/99-6/03 
Ted Snyder | 8/2015-6/2018
William Spathelf | 9/07-12/12
Sr. Johnellen Turner O.P. | 9/03-6/08 
Sr. Angelica Velez, O.P. | 11/07-6/10 
Allan Villegas | 8/2012-6/2018
Brian Yates

Past Chairs

Timothy J. Smith, 5/99-11/02 
Thomas P. Romano, 11/02-6/06 
Anthony D. Angelica, 6/06-9/08 
Christy Larsen ’84 9/08-6/11 
William Spathelf 2011-12/12 
Robert Harper 2012-6/15


440 St. Katherine Drive
La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011

Privacy Policy  ·  Terms of Use

Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy, a Catholic, Dominican, independent, college-preparatory, day and boarding school, educates young women for a life of faith, integrity, and truth.

Flintridge Sacred Heart admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in the administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, financial aid, and athletic and other school-administered programs.