Our Governance

Flintridge Sacred Heart, founded in 1931, is a sponsored institution of the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose. The Board of Directors, comprised of religious and lay members, was established in 1999 and is one of limited jurisdiction. Its structure has two tiers as described below.

Tiers of Governance

Tier One

Tier One is made up of the members, the canonically elected stewards of the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose whose terms continue until they cease to be elected leaders. The members have certain responsibilities for carrying out the mission of the school. These include but are not limited to:

  • Amending, repealing or approving the Bylaws;
  • Appointing the members of the board and removing the same;
  • Approving the persons recommended as officers of the corporation;
  • Appointing the president of the corporation;
  • Acquiring, purchasing, selling, leasing or transferring any real estate;
  • Approving the person recommended by the president as principal;
  • Approving an increment of additions to the capital debt or other obligations.

Tier Two

Tier Two is made up of the Board of Directors, who are appointed by the members for a three-year term that can be renewed two times for a maximum total of nine years. The board consists of no less than 12 and not more than 20 persons. The directors have certain responsibilities for carrying out the mission of the school. These include but are not limited to:

  • Promoting the mission and Catholic, Dominican identity of the school;
  • Approving and establishing policies consistent with the mission, including personnel policies that ensure justice and accountability throughout the school;
  • Recommending the school's operating and capital budgets to the members;
  • Recommending strategic/long-range plans to the members;
  • Annually evaluating board accomplishments; conducting a board evaluation and evaluating the president with respect to those matters within the board’s purview;
  • Annually assuring that there is an systematic evaluation of all personnel within the school;
  • Recommending new directors to the members;
  • Representing the school in areas of public relations.
The recent revision of original bylaws has expanded board membership, lengthened terms of service, and clearly clarified and outlined the rights and responsibilities of members and directors. Through this process, Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy has been significantly strengthened for carrying out its mission.

Past Board Members

Anthony D. Angelica | 2001-2009
Brian Arial | 2015-2019
Sr. Ramona Bascom, O.P. | 1999-2002 
William Cheung | 2016-2019
Dr. Peter Conti | 2008-2015 
Sr. Katherine Jean Cowan, O.P. | 1999-2003 
Charles Cummings | 2001-2009 
Dr. John Davitt | 2001-2009 
Michael Davitt | 2010-2016 
Sara Dooley ’98 | 2010-2012 
Robert Edwards | 2009-2015 
Lisa Smith Freer ‘87 | 2018-2021
Kristin Friese Gannon | 2012-2013 
Stephen J. Giovanisci | 1999-2007 
Lawrence P. Glascott | 2001-2004
Robert Goodwin | 2003-2010 
Robert Harper | 2015-2016
Sr. Rose Marie Hennessy, O.P. | 1999-2005 
Charles Hofgaarden | 2004-2008
Sr. Donna Johnson, O.P. | 2001-2007
Sr. Gloria Marie Jones, O.P. | 2005-2007, 2010-2016   
Leslie Kawai ’80 | 2010-2016 
Chris La Bonge  | 2008-2013
John Laco | 2012-2018
Christy Larsen ’84  | 2003-2011
Sr. Mary Virginia Leach, O.P. | 1999-2000, 2007-2010
Matthew Lewis | 2015-2018
Rita Illig Liebelt ’76 | 2008-2011 
Paul Locker | 2008-2015 
Darla Longo ‘75 | 2001-2008, 2009-2019
Sr. Alicia Lucy, O.P.  | 1999-2001
Kenneth (Kenny) Lund | 2018-2021
Dennis Maguire | 2016-2018
Robert Malchione |  2009-2018
Steven Mann | 2010-2016 
Marina L. Marrelli ’78 | 2007-2011 
Sr. Mary Hilary Miller, O.P. | 1999-2001 
Christine Navarro '82 
Barbara Goen Nemer | 2001-2008 
Fadi Rassam | 2017-2020
Tom Romano | 2002-2007 
Sr. Mary Louis Seal, O.P. | 1999-2001 
Keith Sharp | 2011-2018
Sr. Patricia Ann Smith, O.P. | 2008-2009 
Robert H. Smith | 1999-2003 
Timothy J. Smith | 1999-2003 
Ted Snyder | 2015-2018
William Spathelf | 2007-2012
Sr. Johnellen Turner O.P. | 2003-2008 
Sr. Angelica Velez, O.P. | 2007-2010 
Allan Villegas | 2012-2018
Brian Yates | 2019-2021

Past Chairs

Darla Longo ’75, 2017-2019
Timothy J. Smith, 1999-2002 
Thomas P. Romano, 2002-2006 
Anthony D. Angelica, 2006-2008 
Christy Larsen ’84, 2008-2011 
William Spathelf, 2011-2012 
Robert Harper, 2012-2015
Robert Malchione, 2015-2017


440 St. Katherine Drive
La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011

Privacy Policy  ·  Terms of Use

Flintridge Sacred Heart, a Catholic, Dominican, independent, college-preparatory, day and boarding high school, educates young women for a life of faith, integrity, and truth.

Flintridge Sacred Heart admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in the administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, financial aid, and athletic and other school-administered programs.